A password-protected directory or area is a folder that can be accessed when a username and a password are entered, so no unauthorized individuals could view its content. This feature can be used for the main folder of a certain site or exclusively for a certain subfolder based on your needs. As an illustration, if you are creating a new website and you do not want people to see it prior to it being 100% ready, you have to limit the access to it completely, whereas if you need only some individuals to be able to access particular files, you are able to password-protect only a particular folder, while the other parts of the Internet site can be seen by everybody. In either case, a “403 Forbidden” error page will appear in case the login details the visitor inputs aren't correct. Even a direct link to a file will not work if any folder above it is password-protected.

Password Protected Directories in Shared Hosting

With the password protection tool that comes with every single shared hosting package that we offer, you shall be able to protect any content that you have inside your account with just a few clicks. As the tool is a component of our ground breaking Hepsia Control Panel, it features the exact same uncomplicated interface and you'll not require any special skills to use it. As soon as you check out the Password Protection section, you will need to select one of the domains or subdomains that you have within the account and then choose whether the protection should be activated for the primary folder or for a subfolder. Then input the username and the password that you want and you will be set. A little padlock symbol in the File Manager section will tell you that a certain folder is password-protected. In the same way you will be able to add multiple usernames and passwords for the same folder if you would like several people to have their own login credentials.